Open Accessibility Menu

Claxton-Hepburn Medical Center Clinics Receive Recognition

Claxton-Hepburn Medical Center Clinics Receive Recognition

On October 15, 2019, Claxton-Hepburn Medical Center’s primary clinics received recognition from the National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA) as a New York State Patient-Centered Medical Home (PCMH) practice at the 2017 standard, the most recent standard available. All nine of the Medical Center’s primary care sites received this recognition and include health centers in Canton, Hammond, Heuvelton, Lisbon, Madrid, Ogdensburg, and Waddington, as well as our internal medicine and pediatrics practices.

The American Academy of Pediatrics introduced the medical home concept in 1967, and in 2007 leading primary care-oriented medical professional societies released the Joint Principles of PCMH. The following year, NCQA released its PCMH Recognition Program, the first evaluation program in the Country based on the PCMH model. In New York State an exclusive PCMH model was developed to support the state’s initiative to improve primary care and promote the Triple Aim: better health, lower costs, and better patient experience. The PCMH has six concepts that a practice must complete criteria in each concept area. The rules are specific activities that a practice engages in, demonstrating that it meets the PCMH requirements.

Beth Stemples, executive director of practice management at Claxton-Hepburn, stated, “I am very proud of the hard work our staff completed to help us achieve this recognition.” She continued, “Having New York State PCMH recognition puts us in a better place for value-based payment contract opportunities and ensures that our patients are getting the right care at the right time, at the right place.”

For more information about Claxton-Hepburn’s PCMH’s, visit us on the web at Your tomorrow is worth defending. Shown in the photo are some staff from our PCMH team. Seated in front are Shivangi Modi, FNP, Dr. Nupur Nagrare, and Rita Crowley, FNP. Standing in back are Morgan Lavoie, Whitney Prashaw, Aimee Satterly, Audrey Liscum, Leslie Weldon, Carol Lytle, Marion Parmeter, Jennifer Durant, Kelly Putney, Carol Ferguson, and Erica Downey.